May 26th // Day 132 // Oggl Day 1

So today I was trying to decide which app to use next when I discovered that the makers of Hipstamatic had created what seems to be their own version of Instagram which they’ve called Oggl.

Even though I have issues with the Hipstamatic interface, it is one of my favourite camera apps! So of course I HAD to give this a go.

Well, my initial thoughts were pretty dismal. Right away I noticed that sometimes, the image I just shot wouldn’t be there! In trying to figure it out I found that when I would take the shot, the switch to their version of the camera roll, I could actually see the photo there, and then watch it disappear!!!

I did some investigating and while they didn’t acknowledge on their web site, many users were having the same issue. So I decided okay, this is OBVIOUSLY a bug that will be fixed so I will try to overlook it and start figuring things out as if it was working properly.

Sadly, other aspects of Oggl weren’t faring well. It was going to have a $9.99 yearly subscription as well as a $2.99 quarterly subscription. Personally, I have no problem with paying for something good, if the price is reasonable. In this case, at the moment, the price is not reasonable for the product as it stands.

But, how is the app itself?

It actually loads fairly quickly which is quite nice! And the camera screen is pretty cool looking!

20130622-014905.jpg

It looks nice and modern and like it might offer useful information or tools when needed.

Yes, and no!

First off, I wanted to get to the settings to make sure I was capturing the highest quality images I could! Been caught by that before so it’s the first thing I check.

I couldn’t find the settings. It took me quite some time! You have to first tap the globe icon, then tap a Profile icon, and THEN you’re on a page with a gear icon that MUST take you to the settings.

Nope. As far as I can tell, this app has no settings panel. I even went to the iPhone settings section itself to see if they were one of these apps that put everything there. Nope. The settings gear I mentioned before takes you to a page that lets you set up your sharing options for twitter, Facebook, Flickr, four square, Instagram and tumbler. Oh, and you get a button for inviting your friends.

I’ll write more tomorrow, you’re probably tired of reading. I can still say though, with some work, this could be a cool app!

20130622-015925.jpg

20130622-015942.jpg

20130622-020004.jpg

20130622-020034.jpg

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Experimental, iPhoneography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

