January 1st //\\// Day 1 – Again //\\// Moon Set

So, for about the 7th time now, I’ve gone out to try and catch a January 1st Sunrise.  The only time I’ve ever been happy with my result was back in 2001.  And that was actually January 2nd because the 1st was way too cold and blizzardy.

At any rate, I decided this year to go back to the place of my one success and try again.  Sadly, I made the mistake of assuming everything would be just as accessible as it was back then.  I was looking to get onto the 4th level of a parkade.  Last time, I just drove up and parked.  Yeah, I probably should have scouted things out this year to make sure because now only the bottom level is accessible   There are gates and concrete barricades preventing any access to upper levels.

So not only did drag my friend Shauna out super early in the morning, I now had to drag her around the city while I desperately searched for a new spot!  Alas, a new spot could not be found so I had to work quickly to adapt to the crappy situation.  I tried shooting straight down Jasper Ave but it was still so dark and the wind was so crazy cold that those shots ended up blurry from a slow shutter speed.

Fortunately, Shauna had a coffee and woke up and led us to a fairly nice spot overlooking the city.  In the end, I captured this half decent shot with my back to a rather bland sunrise.

Moon Set

Moon Set

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Landscape. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

