January 20th //\\// Day 20 //\\// One Edmonton Summer

No photo today as I somehow lost track of time and totally forgot.

Instead, I want to start drawing attention to a project I started last year but ended up not being able to work on the way I’d wanted for various reasons.  I call it One Edmonton Summer and I view it as sort of a group 365 project.

The idea is that from June 1st to September 30th of 2011, a dozen or more photographers and photo enthusiasts would take photos every day and submit the best of their images for a given day to be included on the project’s blog site and Facebook page.

I am currently in the process of rebooting everything, I’ve totally wiped out the blog and am looking at various templates to see if I can find anything that will work the way I envision.  The one last time was alright but not great.

I have had a couple people express interest in helping with the blog set up but if anyone else is interested in taking part beyond just capturing photos, please let me know.

One problem that started cropping up last year was that there were a lot of landscape and sunset photos being submitted.  While they will definitely have their place, I want to see more people!  I want to see how the people of Edmonton live their lives here.  I want to see what makes Edmonton a great place to live.  So if you want to take part as a photographer, I really want you to think about how to capture that.  Whether by attending Folk fest, or the Fringe, or your cousin Tom’s birthday party, send the photos you feel are the most powerful

I will include this information and mmore on the bog site once done.  For now, I just want to start raising awareness and interest.  if you want to take part in anyway, please let me know.

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in General Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

