January 18th //\\// Day 18 //\\// Medication

The vast majority of us think nothing of taking a Tylenol for a headache.  Many of us might need morphine to kill the pain from a severe injury.  And even fewer people consider the flouride in our toothpaste and water systems.

I’d written a nice story chronicling my journey with various medications, some that worked, some that didn’t, one that changed my life.  But it was really long and I figured bah!  Who’s going to want to read this trash?  So I cut it all out.  If you really want to hear the story send me a message on Facebook and I’ll fill you in.

Instead, I’ll leave you with this photo that shows my current three friends.

The pink and black capsules are Lansoprazole or PrevAcid.  These treat my acid reflux.  This is the one that basically changed my life.  Since my teens I had issues with coughing for no apparent reason or coughing when smelling, or even thinking about salt.  Once in a while I would tell doctors about it and they would pretty much ignore me because they had no idea what it could be.  This issue is partly responsible for withdrawing from spending time with friends and for avoiding social situations.  Within two days of being on this medication my coughing stopped.  Sadly, within 2 days of NOT taking the medication the problem comes back.  I have had this solution for mess than a year now.

The red capsules are Venlafaxine or Effexor.  These are for treating my anxiety/depression.  Don’t worry, I’m not suicidal or homicidal.  Kinda of the opposite actually.  It’s helped a bit but after almost a year I don’t think it’s having the effect I’m after.  I still have days where I’m pretty bummed out (like everyone else) and I still find social situations raise my anxiety levels – especially when the majority of people are strangers.  Sadly, I can’t quit the medication cold turkey as I’m pretty sure it gives me migraines after I miss a day or two.

Lastly, there’s the ibuprofen.  This is to treat the arthitis in my lower back.  It’s actually counterproductive because it causes the acid reflux the PrevAcid is meant to prevent.  I’m usually supposed to take acetaminophen but that doesn’t always work.  To be honest, most of the painkillers don’t work but the ibuprofen at least reduces the inflamation.

Okay, so maybe that ended up just as long as the other story.  At any rate, here is my photo for January 18th.

Medication by Edmonton Photographer Dave Wilson of Second Sight Studio

Medication

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

