January 2nd //\\// Day 2 //\\// Mirage

So, I had a brilliant idea to do some water based shooting.  I had never attempted this particular thing and now, after having given it a shot, I know that I was not prepared.

The first thing is, you really need a good amount of room.  This allows you to splash with abandon as well as set up black sheets or whatever to prevent reflections from showing up on your tank!  You also need a lot of drying material because you have to keep cleaning things up or you end up with the drops on the side of the tank that get in the way of the product as seen along the bottom edge of the bar.

I also think that with some patience and a budget I might have tried getting into the bar without damaging the packaging and somehow inserting weights into the bar so that it would splash better.  I couldn’t just drop the bar into the water as it didn’t sink far enough, fast enough to do what I wanted.  So eventually I was just throwing the bar into the water.  That caused a lot of water to not stay in the tank!

In the end I’m not displeased.  However, in future, I may do things differently.

Mirage by Dave Wilson of Second Sight Studio

Mirage

Something else I’ve decided to try and do here is to post an image from my archives.  These will generally be portraits with some glamour images thrown in.  This is due to spending a few years working for a talent agency.

The first image is actually of a friend and co-worker from around 2004.  This is Natalie.

Natalie by Dave Wilson of Second Sight Studio

Natalie

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Misc, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

