January 1st – 2011 – Sunrise – Edmonton Photographer 365

Well, I got up about 7:30am to something around -17C degree weather (that’s a bit above +1 degree F for our American friends.)  Normally I wouldn’t think that too terribly bad except that even all layered up with two t-shirts, a sweater, a hoodie, a winter coat, and doubled up socks I was still just chilled to the bone!

At any rate, I hadn’t really given much thought to where I was going to shoot because I wasn’t totally sure exactly where the sun was going to rise.  Turned out to be much further south that I had expected.  And was coming up quicker that I thought as well.  So I stopped on a bridge over the Anthony Hendey and set up camp.  About 45 minutes later I went home.

I was a very interesting experience.  Due to some strange physics inherent in the build of teh Anthony Hendey and it’s grooved surface and the harmonics of the bridge I was on, whenever a car or truck would approach on the Hendey itself, a strange, laser blast kind of sound would be generated and always seemed to come from the south end of the bridge, right where I parked my car.  I noticed the sound almost right away but it took some listening to figure out that traffic was the cause and not my car.  Also, to my ear, to sound that was generated was almost exactly the same regardless of the type of vehicle passing by, small car or big rig generated exactly the same sound as far as I could tell. 

Yeah, I’m strange.

Anyway, here is my best shot.  Now to figure out what to do for tomorrow.

365 - Sunrise - January 1st, 2011

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Skys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

