Day 29 – Stupid iPhone

As a photographer with a genuine passion for the art and craft I am always looking for ways to improve or change my results or tools. A few times I’ve read about photographers increasingly using their cell phones to capture visions of the world around us.

The iPhone is among the more popular or more talked about devices. A few times I’ve tried working with it and I can certainly see the appeal.

But there are problems. And they are such huge, glaring problems I don’t understand how we’ve managed to get through 4 versions of the OS and not get these things addressed.

1) Sorting. – Seriously? All those hundreds of thousands of people using the phone taking hundreds or thousands of pictures with their iPhones and NO ONE has wanted to sort their photos into different folders? Why would I want photos of my grandmas birthday party mixed in with photos of my girlfriend on our vacation mixed in with photos of cool cars I see around town mixed in with photos of pretty flowers I saw at a farmers market?

2) File Info. – I’ve got a pretty small collection of photos and videos all collecting in this one folder. 586 at current count. I have no way to see any information about any of these files such as size or date taken. Not even geotag location unless I first go to the places tab and dig through all the little pins to find the one I want. Why are we not able to see any info? And we can, how?

3) Printing through Bluetooth. – If you go to one of these photo printing kiosks at many different store you can print photos from your cell phone by sending the photos via Bluetooth to the corresponding kiosk. Unless you have an iPhone. Not only can you not pair your phone with the kiosk, there isn’t even an option to send an image via Bluetooth. Maybe the send option doesn’t show up until you’ve paired with something, but since I can’t seem to pair with anything other than a Mac or a headset, I can’t be sure.

I don’t know if there’s any apps that handle some of these tasks, they just seem like things that should be part of the basic OS. Until these things are addressed, I’ll still take pictures with my iPhone, but not as many as I’d like.

The iPhone won't tell me what date I took this photo.

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Tech and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

