Day 19 – Fowl Rescue

This morning during my ritualistic visit to the local 7-11, I’m walking up to the place you stand at to give people money in exchange for the stuff you’re stealing when I look over to see who has just opened the door to enter the store.

At that moment a little bird slammed his noggin into the other door the woman hadn’t opened…it fell to the ground, flailing about.

As I’m finishing paying the man I hear the woman behind me gasp! This is the same woman who nearly got impaled by the little bird. I look over and see a 6′ 4000″ native guy enter the store. I imagine the woman’s gasp was due to this guy nearly stepping on the poor half dead bird. But he was oblivious. He didn’t see it happen, he was listening to his iPod, and his visual cortex was in the stratosphere! I’m sure he’d have felt terrible if he’d actually stepped on the little bird.

Anyway, my plan as I left the store was to push the lifeless body of the poor bird into a corner with my foot so that no one else might step on him. But to my surprise he was just sitting on the side walk, chilling and getting his bearings. So I picked him up and carried him to a nearby grassy area out of the way of most foot traffic and to hopefully prevent him from hopping into the path of motor vehicles.

Whether or not I’ve actually saved him or delayed his demise I have no way to know. But I feel better about myself for having tried.

Here’s the little guy I saved today.

About Dave Wilson

I R Photog! Make Purdy Peectoors! Seriously though, I'm a photographer of many disciplines based in Edmonton, Alberta. I just love a great image, whether it's a penny on a sheet of ice or a $100,000 wedding ceremony or a puppy jumping for a frisbee.
This entry was posted in Fauna and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

